Early Years

EYFS sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five years old.

  • The children learn through the seven areas
  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

In EYFS at Heritage International School, we want our children to be independent, active learners, to learn through play and exploration and to think about their play critically so next time they know how to improve. The children will take their learning both indoors and outdoors. The children experience child-initiated play, adult led play and teacher directed tasks. Through staff observations of the children they can extend the activity to suit the child's ability and teach them their next steps.

Each child will have their own profile of learning which will contain evidence of their learning and experiences both at school and home. Parents are encouraged to add their own information on their child so that the profile of learning becomes a true home/school partnership.